Hiring at Google, the process that doesn’t involve marrying one of the founders

fortune_100best07.gif

Apropos of Mr. Jeff Barr’s experience with Google, I too found Google rather GPA-centric. I was directed to a position in their advertising department by a friend for an entry-level AdWords position. A day later I was contacted by the recruiter and followed that up with a phone interview (presumably to make sure I wasn’t a weirdo/psycho/anti-“fun!” person)…

Soon after this recruiter sent me a TEST to take which had about 20 questions about ads, how I’d correct the ads, what I would change to make the ads better…keywords…information that you will need to teach me if you hire me. Lame. Despite the annoyance, I completed the test and sent it off to the recruiter. About 4 days later she contacted me again to arrange on campus interviews. Sweet I thought, surely I do on campus interviews and then I find out… 

So I head on down to Mountain View’s campus to meet with five different interviewers each for about 20 or so minutes, and then, after all that, I take another test…Well gee, that wasn’t terrible, I sure can’t wait to hear back about whether or not I got the position —-  NOPE….I get contacted by the recruiter again to ask me for all my transcripts, my SAT scores, my favorite color, blood type. And there lies the rub…I had the terrible eyesore of a C or so on one less than stellar SINGLE semester…Google didn’t like that…     I get a call from the recruiter saying “we love you, all the interviewers said how great you are…but we need to you to come back and meet with one more” —

Me: After I meet this final person, will a decision be made?
Them: I can’t really say…   

I sighed and was getting very annoyed…this process was dragging out close to two months….but I went down, met with this other interviewer, the total round trip drive time was 2 1/2 hours….interview lasted for 20 min. The guy “loved me” and was usually really “tough on candidates, but really liked you,” according to the interviewer. 

Me: Great…so when do I hear…..
Them:
Well we are now going to submit you to Hiring Committee which is a group of people outside of the interviewers who look at your total application and let you know… 

That is right… no one that actually meets with you decides whether or not to hire you.

A week goes by and I get a call from the recruiter……the Hiring committee met and didn’t flat out “reject” me…they want me to meet with one more person, and then resubmit my application. Well I almost hung up on her. I also needed to write a letter to “explain” the anomalous semester college grade from my 1st semester sophomore year…NEVERTHELESS, I wasn’t going let Google get the better of me!…I explained the semester…I agreed to the final interview…I went……drove the 2 1/2 hour round trip which, by now, I knew by heart—  My final interview went well, it was with the VP of the group. She was very nice (only 15 minutes late)…the interview lasted for a whole 20 min.

A week later and the committee still hadn’t met… We were closing in on 2 1/2 months of an interview process. I was tempted to write a really “nice” email to my recruiter thanking her for the worst interview process of my life.  As if her timing wasn’t perfect already …I heard from her a few days later when she enthusiastically encouraged me to interview for a similar position as “There are many different hiring committees and another committee may hire you!” — Sweet….go F*** yourself Google….thanks, but no thanks!!

4 Responses to “Hiring at Google, the process that doesn’t involve marrying one of the founders”

  1. Hakan Says:

    what was the exact name of the position ?

  2. empiricalskeptic Says:

    “Adwords representative,” Philly believes -but it was a while back so he/she/it is not 100% certain. Hope that helps.

  3. aisha Says:

    why do you think that the problem is GPA? i know that Google is hiring candidates with GPA even under 3.0.

    can’t it be something else?

  4. phillysays Says:

    Aisha, yes, it could of course be any number of things. The reason I point to the GPA is because it was brought up during the interviews and I was asked to explain it via a letter to Google…


Leave a Reply

